Upheld Complaints

Below, please find a list of anonymised upheld complaints and the action taken by the Trust in response:

Upheld Complaints – December 2018, January 2019 and February 2019

The Trust received a complaint from a patient regarding her caesarean section and concern that she was given an overdose of diamorph. The patient also raised concern that she has identified a second, unexplained incision mark.

This complaint was investigated as a Learning Panel by the Trust’s Clinical Governance Facilitators. A subsequent recommendation was made that if using two syringes of the same size then the syringe containing the remainder of the diamorphine should not be kept on the trolley once the dose required has been removed.

 

A complaint was received from a visitor regarding smoking outside of the Trust and the lack of action taken by the Security staff to stop this.

The Trust apologised for the distress caused and explained that it is not legally enforceable to stop anyone from smoking. We assured the complainant that our signage is regularly reviewed and the Security Staff approach smokers on a daily basis and ask them to stop.

 

The Trust received a complaint from a patient whose procedure was cancelled at late notice due to her weight. The patient’s weight was documented on her pre-op form and the Doctor who booked her was also aware

The Trust apologised that the patient’s operation was cancelled on the day and recognised that this was our error. We assured the patient of our usual processes and apologised that in this instance this did not happen. The patient was assured that in light of her concerns, the Admissions Team were reminded that dates for surgery should not be arranged until the pre-assessment process has been successfully completed.

 

A complaint was received from a patient regarding the delay in receiving her test results. The patient was given the results by the receptionist and still has no letter confirming them. Further concern was also raised that when the patient arrived for her Gastroenterology appointment, there was no doctor as they had not returned from Maternity Leave.

An apology was given for not sending a copy of the clinic letter to the patient and for the absence of a Doctor when the patient arrived for her appointment. We assured the complainant that receptionists do not give out test results.

 

A complaint was received from patient regarding the care and treatment she received at the Trust before, during and after the birth of her baby.

The Trust apologised that some aspects of the patient’s care were not provided in a timely manner and we assured her that following our investigation, it was identified that the rest of her assessments were undertaken within an appropriate timeframe.

 

The Trust received a complaint from the wife of a patient who was unhappy with the care and treatment her husband received in our Accident and Emergency Department (A&E).

The Trust apologised that the complainant did not feel that their concerns were taken seriously. The Trust recognised that the doctor did not review the patient’s electrocardiogram (ECG) which should have been done.  The doctor reflected on this and met with the department’s Clinical Director to discuss this and apologised to the complainant and patient.

 

The Trust received a complaint received from a patient regarding the delay in receiving her prescription in the St Luke’s Cancer Centre.

The Oncology Matron apologised for the delay and recognised that this was due to the department being particularly busy on this occasion. We provided assurance that as a result, the Matron would be working closely with her senior nurses on Chilworth Day Unit to ensure that the dispensing process was streamlined.

 

A complaint was received from a patient regarding the delay in receiving his follow up appointment after his Urology surgery.

The Prostatectomy Specialist Nurse contacted the patient and apologised via telephone.  The nurse provided the patient with her contact details if there are ever any future appointment issues

 

The Trust received a complaint from a patient regarding the delay in receiving their Rheumatology prescription.

The patient was contacted directly by our Lead Pharmacist for Rheumatology who apologised for the delays and explained the cause. The patient’s prescription was subsequently sent to them and contact details provided should the patient experience any difficulty in the future.

 

The Trust received a complaint from a patient regarding the lack of car parking spaces. The patient missed two outpatient appointments due to being unable to find a space.

The Trust apologised for the difficulty the patient experienced and assurance as provided that we are working closely with Guildford Borough Council to rectify the issue.

 

A complaint was received from the wife of a patient regarding her husband’s cardiology appointment and the attitude of the Doctor.

The Trust apologised and assured the complainant that the doctor concerned had reflected on their experience.

 

A complaint was received from a patient regarding the catering whilst on the ward as an in-patient

An apology was sent to the patient and we thanked him for his feedback and suggestions. These were passed to the Trust’s Catering Manager.

 

The Trust received a complaint from the wife of a patient regarding the attitude of an A&E doctor.

The doctor apologised for the distress caused and the Trust assured the complainant that this had been raised with his Line Manager.

 

The Trust received a complaint from a patient with concern that a registrar had performed her surgery when she was expecting the surgery to be carried out by a consultant and she subsequently experienced complications.

This complaint will be investigated as a Learning Panel and will be investigated by the Trust’s Clinical Governance Facilitators.

 

A complaint was received from a patient regarding appointment reminders he was receiving for his wife who was deceased. This had been reported previously  but no action was taken to prevent it happening again.

The Medical Records Team were contacted and the complainant was assured that his wife’s details had now been appropriately updated. The Trust apologised for the distress caused.

 

A complaint was received from the parents of a patient regarding their daughters care and treatment in A&E and the Emergency Assessment Unit prior to her death.

The Trust apologised for the lack of information provided to the parents during the patients admission and recognised that this would have provided the complainants the opportunity to ask questions and seek reassurances. This complaint was shared anonymously with the Emergency Department Teams for reflection and learning.

 

 A complaint was received from a patient regarding the delays in receiving his prescription from St Luke’s Pharmacy. The patient also raised concern regarding the attitude of staff working in the Pharmacy.

The Trust apologised for the delays the patient experienced and advised that as a result, additional staff had been recruited to help with the workload on the department.

 

The Trust received a complaint from a patient who was dissatisfied with the response received via the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) regarding visitors and noise levels on the Surgical Short Stay Unit (SSSU).

The concerns were discussed with the Matron of SSSU and she has reiterated to staff the importance of adhering to one visitor per patient and enforcing the visiting times when necessary. The Trust apologised for the distress caused.

Upheld Complaints – September, October and November 2018

The Trust received a complaint from a patient regarding the Rheumatology Department, specifically, concerns regarding a change in her medication and the difficultly she experienced booking her outpatient appointments.

We recognised the distress caused to the patient as a result of the change in her medication, not receiving her appointments in time and the difficulty she experienced contacting the department. We apologised and assured the patient that additional clinical and administrative workforce had been recruited to help ensure that instances like these do not reoccur.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding complications following their Urology procedure.

A meeting was arranged for the complainant to discuss his concerns with his Consultant and the Specialty Manager for Urology. A letter was sent following this meeting apologising for the shortcomings identified.

 

Complaint received from a patient concerning delays in receiving their surgery date.

We apologised to the patient for the distress caused as a result of having to wait longer than expected for his surgery. His surgery was re-booked with a follow up appointment shortly after.

 

The Trust received a complaint from a patients daughter regarding the care and treatment her mother received in our Accident and Emergency Department. Concerns were also raised regarding the poor attitude of a doctor in the Trauma and Orthopaedics (T&O) Department.

The Trust apologised for the distress caused and assured the complainant that her complaint was discussed anonymously with the A&E Team at their Clinical Governance Meeting to ensure that the patient’s experience was shared and learning identified. We assured the complainant that her concerns regarding the attitude of the T&O doctor had been discussed with him to reflect on her mother’s experience.

 

Complaint received from a car park user regarding a bollard that had been knocked down which subsequently caused a punctured tyre.

We apologised for the damage caused to the complainants care and assured them that the appropriate measures had been implemented to fix the issue with the broken bollard. We requested receipts from the complainant in order for compensation to be provided.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding their outpatient appointment being rescheduled several times and the miscommunication surrounding this.

The department’s Clinical Director apologised to the patient and recognised the distress caused. The Appointments Centre were reminded of specifically which calls should be transferred through to the Breast Clinic and which calls needed to be redirected elsewhere to help ensure that instances like these do not reoccur.

 

The Trust received a complaint from a patient who experienced a delay in receiving his test results from the Cardiology Department and did not receive a response from the department after leaving several messages on a secretary’s answerphone.

The Trust apologised for the delay in providing the patient with their Cardiology test results and that he subsequently had to cancel his GP appointments. We provided the patient with information on what measures had been put in place to help ensure that this does not reoccur in the future.

 

The Trust received a complaint regarding the electronic referral system (ERS).

The Trust apologised for the delay in the patient’s appointment being arranged and gave assurance that the ERS Directory of Service would be reviewed to ensure that the correct clinicians are listed against the correct sub-specialties to ensure that this does not reoccur in the future.

 

The Trust received a complaint from the daughter of a patient regarding outpatient appointments in Outpatients 2. Concerns were raised that the doctor left the clinic before her mother had been seen.

The Trust investigated this issue and identified that the patient did not display as checked in, despite using the self-check in screen. This highlighted a fault which was subsequently reported to the Trust’s IT Department.

 

The Trust received a complaint from the son of a patient who tripped over a raised drain in the car park.

The Trust apologised for this incident and assured the complainant that as a result of this, an order was raised to rectify the hazards identified in the car park, including the raised drain.

 

Complaint received from the daughter of a patient regarding discrepancies in her mother’s clinic letter. Concern was also raised that they were provided with another patient’s medical records.

We apologised for the discrepancies in the clinic letter and assured the complainant that this information was documented in the patient’s medical records during their outpatient appointment and subsequently dictated in good faith. The confidentiality breach had been previously addressed and resolved by the Trust’s Information Governance Lead.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding no referral being forwarded to his new NHS authority.

The Trust’s Oncology Matron spoke with the patients GP to confirm that they had all of the information they required.

 

The Trust received a complaint from a patient whose surgery was cancelled. Concerns were also raised regarding the attitude and behaviour of staff.

The Trust apologised for the patient’s experience and recognised this was due to a lack of communication between the Urology and General Surgery Teams. A General Surgery Consultant wrote to the patient to inform her why these errors occurred and how we will ensure that they do not happen again.

 

Complaint received regarding the poor attitude of a hospital porter.

We apologised to the patient for her experience and assured her that the Trust’s HR processes were implemented for the individual concerned.

 

Complaint received from a patient’s daughter regarding the patient’s discharge from Merrow Ward.

The Trust apologised for the poor communication surrounding the patient’s discharge and recognised the distress caused.  As a result of the complaint, Merrow Ward staff were reminded of the importance of providing the appropriate information to patients and their next of kin prior to their discharge.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding the delay in being informed of her abnormal radiology result and the delays she experienced waiting for her surgery and treatment.

This complaint was escalated to the Medical Director and was subsequently declared as a Serious Incident for investigation.

The Trust received a complaint regarding a payment machine in the Trust’s car park being broken. Concerns were also raised regarding the distance between the disabled bays and the parking machines.

We apologised that the closest available machine was not signposted appropriately and for the subsequent detour the complainant and her husband had to take. We assured the complainant that this was investigated and rectified.

 

Complaint received from a patient’s daughter with concerns regarding a dressing on her mother’s leg which was changed by a district nurse; the dressing change was followed by an episode of significant blood loss.

This complaint was escalated to the Medical Director and was subsequently declared as a Serious Incident for investigation.

 

The Trust received a complaint regarding the attitude of a receptionist in the main hall.

The Trust apologised for the concern caused and advised that unfortunately, we were unable to identify the member of staff concerned.  As a result of the concerns that were raised, all Front Desk Staff were booked in for further Customer Service Training in order to remind them of the importance of good communication skills.

 

Complaint received from the husband of a patient regarding the communication style of an Oncology Doctor and how his wife’s scan results were conveyed to her without him present.

The Trust apologised for the distress caused and recognised that this difficult conversation should have taken place with the appropriate support present for the patient. A meeting was subsequently held with the complainant to discuss his concerns with the Oncology Team.

 

The Trust received a complaint from a patient regarding her Gynaecology appointments which were repeatedly cancelled and rescheduled.

We apologised that the patient’s appointments were cancelled and rescheduled on numerous occasions and recognised that this was due to a lack of communication between the Women and Children’s Team and the Appointments Centre. We offered assurance that both teams are now working together to streamline this process going forward.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding the appointment booking system.

We assured the patient that his internal referral had been recorded appropriately and we apologised that he had been informed that he had been lost in the system as this was not the case.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding several inaccuracies on his discharge summary. The patient wrote to the Senior Sister for Ewhurst Ward in order to get this amended did not receive a reply.

The Trust recognised that the information on the patient’s discharge summary was incorrect and apologised for this. The discharge summary was amended and a copy was sent to the patient for their records.

 

The Trust received a complaint from a patient regarding a letter that was sent to her GP advising that she had failed to attend her outpatient appointment despite telephoning the hospital in advance to advise that she would be unable to attend.

The Trust recognised that despite the patient informing the Appointments Centre that they would like to postpone their appointment; this was not communicated to the Trauma and Orthopaedics Department. As a result of the complaint, the outcome of the patient’s appointment was changed and their appointment was rearranged.

 

The Trust received a complaint from the daughter of a patient regarding the care and treatment her mother received in A&E and Albury Ward prior to her death. Concerns were raised regarding the communication she received from the Bereavement Nurse and the doctors caring for her mother.

The Trust apologised for the miscommunication error that occurred when her mother was in A&E and recognised that sensitive conversations should take place in a private room and we apologised that this did not happen.  Through our investigations we were unable to ascertain who the Bereavement Nurse in question was.

 

Complaint received from the son of a patient regarding the difficulty he experienced finding a car parking space in St Luke’s Cancer Centre Car Park and the delays in Chilworth Day Unit.

The Trust apologised that a contractors van was parked in a disabled bay and assured the complainant that the car parking staff would keep a close eye on this area of the car park in future. The Oncology Matron apologised for the delays in Chilworth Day Unit. and assured the complainant that the department are working closely with the Aseptic’ s Unit, which manufactures chemotherapy,  to ensure that patients receive their treatment in a timely manner in future.

Upheld Complaints – June, July and August 2018

Complaint received from husband of a patient regarding the difficulty he experienced contacting the Gastroenterology Department and the lack of communication he received regarding his wife’s outpatient appointment following her discharge from the Trust.

We apologised for the difficulty he experienced contacting the Gastroenterology Department and recognised the unnecessary distress caused to him as a result of this. We ensured that all appointments were appropriately arranged for his wife and amended the errors identified on her discharge summary.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the information recorded for them on the Trust’s patient administration system, APAS, and the attitude of a receptionist in A&E.

The Trust apologised for the error made by the receptionist and assured the patient that in light of their experience, all receptionists will attend further training.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding her experience in A&E and on Frensham Ward.

We apologised for the patient’s experience and that she felt that A&E targets were more important to staff than the care and treatment delivered to her. We recognised the patient’s distress during her admission to Frensham Ward and assured her that her feedback was shared anonymously with the teams concerned.

 

Complaint received from the mother of a patient regarding her daughter’s A&E attendance with concern that her daughter was not appropriately examined.

The Trust apologised for the patient’s experience in A&E and identified shortcomings from her attendance. The complaint was shared with the team anonymously to identify learning and the team were reminded of the importance of collecting specimen pots in a timely manner.

 

Complaint received from the daughter of a patient querying why her mother’s foot fracture was missed during her admission to the Trust.

Whilst we recognised that the patient’s foot fracture was missed, we assured the complainant that her mother was assessed appropriately by the Multi-Disciplinary Team (MDT) during her stay and there were no clinical suspicions raised. The Trust apologised for the distress caused.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the attitude of a doctor during her obstetrics outpatient appointment.

The Trust apologised for the patient’s experience and informed her that the doctor’s contract has now been terminated and he will no longer be working at the Trust, now or in the future. The Trust’s medical director also liaised with the appropriate regulatory body, highlighting the concerns.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding his experience in A&E with concerns raised regarding triage nurse who attended to him.

The patient was telephoned by the Matron for the Emergency Department and his concerns were addressed.

 

Complaint received from the husband of a patient with concern that his wife has not been given a diagnosis.

The Trust apologised for the distress caused to both the complainant and the patient and recognised that there was a delay in the patient’s test results being reported back to the Consultant. We have informed the complainant of the measures that have since been implemented to help ensure that this does not reoccur in the future.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding the attitude of the sonographer conducting her 12 week scan.

The Trust apologised for the distress caused to the patient and recognised that this would not have offered reassurance to her at the time. The sonographer was spoken with regarding the patient’s concerns and has reflected on their practice.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the delays in his Oncology treatment.

We apologised to the patient for the delays he has experienced and have identified several areas for improvement in the Oncology Department which will be implemented as soon as possible.

 

Complaint received from patient as she was unable to attend her appointment due to the lack of car parking spaces at the Trust.

The Trust recognises that there are ongoing difficulties with car parking and informed the patient of what is being done to help minimise these issues. We re-booked the patient’s appointment at the next available date and provided these appointment details to the patient in our complaints response.

 

Complaint received from the parents of a patient with concern that a consent form was not sent through to St George’s Hospital for their son’s MRI scan.

We recognised that the communication between the Neurology Department and the patient’s parents should have been clearer and understood the confusion caused. We explained to the parents that the consent process for the scan would have needed to be performed at St George’s Hospital.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the lack of communication received from a Cardiac Specialist Nurse.

We apologised for the patient’s experience and recognised that the delays she experienced were unacceptable. We have assured the patient that new processes have been implemented to improve communication between Radiology and Cardiology to help ensure that instances like these do not reoccur in the future.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the poor attitude of the Consultant during her Urology appointment.

We apologised to the patient for her experience during her outpatient appointment and provided her with the information requested. We have transferred the patient’s care and treatment to another consultant and sent details of their appointment with our complaints response.

 

Complaint received from a visitor to the Trust regarding the attitude of a Receptionist in the Main Hall.

The Trust recognised that the receptionist’s manner was unacceptable and assured the complainant that they had been spoken with regarding this and had reflected on their behaviour.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding the attitude of a doctor during their appointment in the Ear, Nose and Throat Department.

We spoke with the doctor regarding the patient’s concerns and assured the patient that it was not his intention to come across in this manner. We provided information to the patient on how to transfer their care to elsewhere later this year as per their request.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the delay in their two week rule appointment being booked.

Our Outpatient Services Manager recognised that there had been a break down between the Trust and Surrey Downs Clinical Commissioning Group Referral Support Services (RSS) and we assured the patient that new processes are going to be implemented to ensure that this does not reoccur.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the delay in their referral from the Cardiology Department to Respiratory Medicine and that they have still not been given an appointment.

The Trust apologised that the referral had not been appropriately sent and were pleased that the patient had been able to be seen. The Trust assured the patient that the doctors Clinical Supervisor had been made aware to ensure that improvements to his organisational skills are made.

 

Complaint received from the son-in-law of a patient regarding the attitude of a receptionist in the Cedar Centre.

The Trust apologised for the patient and complainants experience and assured them the member of staff in question no longer works at the Trust and all new staff will undergo patient experience training to ensure that instances like these do not reoccur in the future.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding her experience at the Trust when suffering from her miscarriages.

The Trust apologised for the patient’s experience and recognised the understandable distress that this has caused her. We assured the patient that there are plans to relocate the Early Pregnancy Unit (EPAU) to a purpose built environment to help minimise the distress caused to miscarrying women.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding the attitude of a receptionist in Outpatients 1.

Our Outpatient Administration Manager discussed the patient’s experience with the member of staff involved who apologised for her attitude and expressed that it was not her intention to come across in that manner. The Trust will be reviewing the training of all Outpatient Reception Staff to further develop their customer service skills.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the difficulty she experienced booking her MRI and Physiotherapy appointments.

We apologised for the patient’s experience and recognised that there was a lack of communication between the Trauma and Orthopaedics Department and Radiology resulting in a delay in her MRI scan booking. The Trust assured the patient that all of her appointments have now been booked appropriately.

 

Complaint received from the father of a patient regarding the delay in the Cardiology Department sending a letter to the Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency (DVLA) to say she was fit to drive.

The Trust apologised for the delay in the necessary paperwork being sent to the DVLA and recognised the distress and strain this placed on the patient and her family.  We have assured the complainant that since this time, a number of schemes have been implemented in the department to help ensure that this does not reoccur.

 

Complaint received from patient with concern that he has been misdiagnosed and not provided with the appropriate tests by the Diabetes and Endocrinology Department.

We assured the patient that the care and treatment he received was appropriate and that if any abnormality was identified from his test results, further diagnostic imaging would be requested.

 

Complaint received from the granddaughter of a patient regarding the care and treatment that her grandfather received on Frensham Ward.

The Trust assured the patient’s granddaughter that there was no confusion between her grandfather and another patient and all care and treatment he received was appropriate.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding his cancelled Gastroenterology procedure without a new appointment being given, despite being informed that he would be contacted with a new date.

We apologised that the patient’s Gastroenterology procedure was cancelled and that unfortunately this was due to a fault with the equipment which was identified on the day. We rebooked the patient’s procedure and provided details of this with our complaints response.

Complaint received from patient regarding the care and treatment that she received at the Trust.

The Trust recognised that improvement was required in communication between our A&E Department and our laboratory with regards to processing samples. All A&E staff have been informed to contact the laboratory to state the urgency of a request to ensure that they are processed in the appropriate manner.

 

Complaint received from patient with concern that he had been using the wrong size catheter and unhappy with the lack of communication he had received from the Urology Department regarding a blood thinning drug he had been taking.

The Urology Department wrote to the patient addressing his concerns and offered him the opportunity to meet with him to discuss any further issues he may wish to raise.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the care and treatment that she had received in A&E with concern that a diagnosis of Crohn’s disease had been missed.

We assured the patient that had a diagnosis of Crohn’s been indicated at the time, this would have been treated by the Surgical Team who reviewed her during each of her A&E attendances. We apologised for her poor experience and the distress caused during a particular attendance and recognised that this would not have offered reassurance to her at what was already a distressing time.

 

Complaint received from patient with concern that her broken wrist was not diagnosed.

We recognised that the communication with the patient surrounding the difference between a deformity and a displacement should have been better. The patient’s case was reviewed by a Senior Trauma and Orthopaedics Consultant who advised that the care and treatment she received was appropriate however options regarding surgical and non-surgical management should have been explained to her more clearly.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the care and treatment she received in the Day Surgery Unit (DSU).  Patient raised concern that her symptoms were dismissed and she was not provided with the appropriate medication or a follow up appointment.

The Trust informed the patient that as the DSU does not have an overnight facility, the nursing staff wanted to inform her of this so that a collective decision could be made to ascertain if she required an overnight admission. We apologised for the poor communication regarding her medication and the follow up appointment.

 

Complaint received from patient’s daughter regarding the care and treatment that her father received on the Intensive Care Unit and Onslow Ward before he died.

The Trust answered all questions raised by the complainant and apologised for the poor communication with her and her family and we recognised that this was unacceptable.

 

Complaint received from the daughter of a patient regarding the care and treatment that her father received on Albury Ward prior to his death.

We apologised that the patient was discharged without all of the appropriate medications and that his transport was not appropriately arranged and recognised the distress caused to him and his family as a result of this.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the difficulty she has had cancelling her outpatient appointment.

Our Outpatient Administration Manager telephoned the patient and apologised for the difficulty she experience and assured her that her appointment had been cancelled. It was explained that these difficulties were due to our system provided carrying out updates to our automated telephone answering system.

 

Complaint received from patient after receiving a text message confirming an appointment for the wrong date.

The Trust apologised for this and the patient’s subsequent wasted journey to the hospital. We identified that unfortunately, this was due to human error and provided a car parking voucher to the patient for their next visit to the Trust.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding her experience at the Trust, with concern that her daughter was taken away from her, she was not provided with food and was held here against her will.

The Trust assured the patient that her daughter was admitted to Hascombe Ward as a safety measure which was discussed with her at the time. We apologised for the lengthy delay she experienced when waiting to see the Home Treatment Team (HTT) and assured her that staff have been reminded of the importance of checking with patients before removing their food trays.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding visitors smoking on the hospital grounds and the lack of signage regarding this.

The Trust apologised to the patient and recognises that this is an ongoing issue. We have informed the patient of the measures we have implemented and how we aim to further improve this issue.

 

Complaint received from patient with concern that the anaesthetist administered the wrong anaesthetic prior to his eye surgery despite written instructions.

The Trust’s Complaints Team arranged a meeting for the patient to meet with the team who operated on him and address his concerns.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the delays in receiving her prescription from the Pharmacy.

We apologised for the delay the patient experienced and recognised that this was due to delays both in the Pharmacy and in our Oncology Department. We have explained the measures that have been implemented to help ensure that this does not reoccur.

Upheld Complaints-March/April/May 2018

Complaint received from patient regarding administration processes in the Cardiology Department.

We have apologised to the patient for the difficulty she experienced contacting the department and recognised that this was due to staff shortages. We have informed the patient that the department is now fully staffed and that all administrative duties are up to date and processes have been implemented to ensure that instances like this do not reoccur.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding their cancelled Ophthalmology appointments at the Trust and the difficulty that they have experienced contacting the Urology Secretaries.

The Trust apologised for the patient’s experience and has assured the patient that in light of their concerns, new processes have been implemented to ensure that instances like these do not reoccur in the future.

 

The husband of a patient raised concerns regarding his wife’s discharge from Bramshott Ward.

We apologised for the delays the patient experienced and recognised that there was a delay between the patient being told she was ready for discharge and her check x-ray being performed.  In light of their concerns, Bramshott Ward staff were reminded of the importance of clear communication with patients and their relatives at all times.

 

A patient wrote to the Trust regarding their experience during their admission with concerns that there was a delay in receiving an MRI scan of their spine causing them nerve damage.

Upon review of the care and treatment that the patient received during her admission, we have assured the patient that this was appropriate given her presentation at the time. This was supported by the advice given from St George’s Hospital . We recognised that the communication between Trust staff and the patient should have been better and we apologised for the subsequent distress that this has caused.

 

Complaint received from the son of a patient regarding the care and treatment that his mother received during her admission to the Trust.

The Trust apologised for his mother’s experience and assured him that upon review, the care and treatment given to his mother was appropriate. A meeting was offered to the complainant to discuss his concerns with Trust staff however this was declined.

 

A patient raised a formal complaint after they were unhappy with the response they received via the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) regarding the attitude of a consultant during her outpatient appointment.

The Trust apologised to the patient for her experience during her appointment and that the consultation room door was left open. We recognised that this should have been discussed with the patient at the beginning of the consultation.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the inaccuracies in a clinic letter he received from the Trust and issues surrounding his recent surgery.

We apologised to the patient for the inaccuracies contained in the clinic letter and amended this for his records. We recognised that a letter from a consultant within the Trust addressing his concerns was not received by the patient and this was subsequently resent.

 

A patient’s sister-in-law contacted the Trust to raise concerns regarding the patient’s end of life care.

The Trust apologised for the families experienced and recognised the distress caused to them at this sad and difficult time. We informed the family of the reasons behind the decisions that were made during the patient’s admission and addressed all of their concerns in a written response.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the care and treatment they have received in the Rheumatology Department with a question of why they were not referred to the Trauma and Orthopaedics (T&O) Department.

We have apologised to the patient and recognised that they should have been referred to T&O upon receipt of their scan results. We have assured the patient that additional workforce has been recruited in the Rheumatology Department to help to ensure that instances like these do not reoccur.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the care and treatment that she received at the Trust when she was suffering from a miscarriage.

The patient raised several questions in her correspondence regarding her care and treatment which the Trust answered in detail and we recognised through our investigations that the booklet provided to patient’s experiencing early bleeding during pregnancy could be improved. The A&E Department will be working with the Early Pregnancy Unit to update this leaflet.

 

A patient wrote to the Trust to raise concerns regarding the attitude of the doctor who treated her in the Emergency Assessment Unit (EAU) and concern that she was misdiagnosed.

We have apologised to the patient for her experience and recognised that her care and treatment pathway was not appropriate. We assured the staff member had been spoken with regarding her concerns.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding a potential breach in confidentiality.

This matter was investigated by the Trust’s Information Governance Lead and we assured the patient that none of her details were shared outside the Trust or with any unauthorised personnel.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the care and treatment that they received in the Trauma and Orthopaedics Department with questions raised regarding their surgery in December 2017.

We arranged for the patient to have an outpatient appointment to discuss their symptoms and a subsequent referral was made to the pain clinic. We also wrote to the patient addressing all of their outstanding concerns and apologised for the distress caused to them.

 

The wife of a patient wrote to the Trust with concerns regarding her husband’s prostate surgery in 2015 and a query of why a surgical clip was left in his body.

We assured the complainant that the surgical clip used during her husband’s surgery is designed to be retained and apologised that this was not explained to her husband at the time of his surgery.

 

Complaint received from the daughter of a patient regarding her mother’s fall in St Luke’s Cancer Centre.

The Trust apologised to the complainant and recognised the distress caused to her and her mother as a result of this incident.  

 

A patient contacted the Trust as his Gastroenterology appointments were cancelled and rebooked several times.

After investigating the patient’s concerns, we recognised that there was an issue relating to the address that the Trust had recorded for the patient on our patient administration system. This was updated and a new appointment was arranged for the patient.

 

We received a complaint from the daughter of a patient who was dissatisfied with the communication surrounding her mother’s discharge and raised several concerns regarding her mother’s admission to the Trust.

We apologised to the daughter for her experience and as a result of the findings of our investigation, a Trustwide circulation was sent to remind ward staff to refer all patients with Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) to the dieticians.

 

Guildford and Waverley Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) contacted the Trust with a complaint from the mother of a patient querying why her daughter was not referred for further treatment of her vocal nodules.

The Trust recognised that the patient should have been referred to Speech and Language Therapy for further treatment and apologised that this did not happen. We recognised that this was due to a miscommunication in the Ear, Nose and Throat department and this was raised and discussed at their Department Meeting.

 

The Trust received a complaint from the daughter of a patient regarding the care and treatment that her mother received at Milford Hospital.

After investigating the complaint, we assured the complainant that the staff member concerned was spoken with regarding the patient’s experience and asked to reflect on their practice. We apologised for the distress caused to both the daughter and her mother.

 

A patient contacted the Trust with a complaint regarding his gallbladder removal in April 2017.

The patient’s consultant contacted him by telephone to discuss his concerns with him and also offered a meeting to help resolve his concerns.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the communication issues they have experienced with the Cardiology Department

The Trust apologised for the patient’s experience and recognised that this was due to the administrative issues within the Cardiology Department. We informed the patient of the improvements that have been made to the department to ensure that instances like these do not reoccur.

 

The husband of a patient wrote to the Trust regarding the care and treatment that his wife received on Onslow Ward prior to her death.

We apologised for the complainants experience and recognised that this would not have offered reassurance to him and his family at this sad and difficult time. We provided information to the complainant on the reasons particular decisions were made regarding his wife’s care and treatment and answered the questions that he had raised.

 

A patient contacted the Trust with concerns of the lack of communication he received from the consultant during his outpatient appointment.

We arranged a further outpatient appointment for the patient and ensured that an interpreter was appropriately booked.

 

The Trust received a complaint via Jeremy Hunt’s office regarding the difficulty a patient had experienced booking his Eye Clinic appointment.

The Trust apologised for the difficulty the patient had experienced and his concerns were addressed through a telephone conversation with the Trust’s Outpatient Administration Manager. A new appointment was made for the patient in the Eye Clinic and details of this appointment were sent out in a letter.

 

The wife of a patient contacted the Trust with concern that her husband’s medical records had been confused with another patient.

We apologised for the confusion caused and recognised that the incorrect patient’s details had been filed in his medical records. We assured the complainant that these had now been removed.

 

Complaint received from a patient who was unhappy with the response provided to her by the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) regarding her post-operative care as an inpatient.

The Trust apologised to the patient for the distress caused to her and ensured that her discharge summary was appropriately amended and a copy sent through to her GP practice.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding the difficulty she had experienced contacting the Urology Secretaries to arrange her outpatient appointments.

The Trust apologised for the attitude of the secretary she spoke with during her telephone call and assured her that the member of staff was spoken with regarding her concerns. We informed the patient that in light of her concerns, the Trust’s Medical Director had reviewed her care and treatment and a letter of referral was written to a Consultant within the Trust to ensure that her care and treatment is coordinated appropriately.

 

The Trust received a complaint from a patient regarding her experience in A&E and felt that she was rushed and not listened to.

We assured that patient that upon review, the management plan chosen was reasonable given her presentation at the time and apologised for the poor communication she received during her attendance.

 

A patient wrote to the Trust with concerns regarding her hysterectomy and that she felt that the Trust had been negligent.

The patient’s concerns were further investigated  by the Trust’s Clinical Governance Facilitators and a Learning Panel took place to identify areas for improvement within the Trust to help ensure that instances like these do not reoccur.

 

Upheld Complaints-December 2017/January/ February 2018

The Trust received a complaint from the son of a patient who passed away at the Trust with several questions regarding his father’s care and treatment.

The Trust reviewed the patient’s care and treatment and advised that the care given was appropriate, but recognised that there was a miscommunication error between the teams caring for the patient. We apologised for this error and recognised the distress caused to the family as a result and the complaint was shared anonymously with the Teams for reflective learning.

Complaint received via email from the father of a patient querying the rules of admitting patients to Hascombe Ward and highlighting issues with his daughter’s admission.

The Trust apologised for not admitting the patient to Hascombe Ward and in light of the complainant’s concerns, the Trust policy for the Hascombe Ward admission criteria was revised.

 Complaint received from patient raising concerns of complications following a procedure performed at the Trust in October 2017.

A meeting was held with the complainant, their consultant and the Speciality Manager for Urology and a subsequent letter was sent apologising for the shortcomings identified.

Complaint received from a patient regarding her recent birthing experience at the Trust.

We apologised that the patient’s birthing experience was affected by the behaviour of Trust staff and have thanked the patient for her suggestions of improvements, each of which have been discussed at Women and Children’s governance meetings.

Complaint received from the daughter and son of patient regarding their father’s discharge from Albury Ward.

The Trust recognised that there were some shortcomings in the patients discharge arrangements with regards to the communication between the ward and the patient’s family. The Trust apologised and recognised the distress caused to both the patient and the family and Albury ward staff were reminded of the importance of good communication.

Complaint received from the husband of a patient regarding his wife’s care and treatment in A&E.

We recognised that the patient could have been given an extra dose of analgesia and the nursing documentation was not of a high standard. This complaint was shared with the ward anonymously to ensure staff could learn from the patient’s experience and improve their documentation.

The Trust received a complaint from the son of a patient regarding his mother’s care and treatment at the Trust during her admission.

A meeting was offered to the complainant with Trust staff and the Trust apologised for the delay the patient experienced in A&E and for the distress caused to both the patient and the family at the time.

Complaint received from patient who was concerned that they were not reviewed in a timely manner following their hand surgery.

The Speciality Manager for Trauma and Orthopaedics telephoned the patient and apologised for the patient’s unsatisfactory care pathway, and arranged for the patient to have a further appointment in the outpatient’s clinic to raise any further concerns with a Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon.

Complaint received via The Right Honourable Jeremy Hunt’s office from a patient regarding waiting times in the Trauma and Orthopaedics outpatients’ clinic.

The Trust apologised for the delay that the patient had experienced, and reiterated to staff the importance of informing patients of any delays and maintaining good communication throughout the clinic.

The Trust received a complaint via email from the mother of a patient regarding the patient’s attendance to A&E and querying if a diagnosis was missed.

We recognised that the communication between the A&E doctor and the Paediatric Doctor could have been better. The complaint was shared anonymously with both the A&E Department and the Paediatric Department for reflective learning and to identify areas of improvement in communication between the two departments.

Complaint received from patient regarding the care and treatment they received from the Gynaecology Department with the query of why their diagnosis was missed.

The Trust apologised that the patient’s rare condition was not identified during their admissions to the Trust. The complaint was anonymised and shared with the ward for reflective learning and identification of learning points.

Email received from patient regarding the delay between their referral to the Trust and their appointment in the pain clinic.

We apologised for the inconvenience caused by these delays, and recognised that this was due to the ongoing issues experienced with our Patient Administration System APAS. The Outpatients Administration Team is working hard on an Outpatients Transformation Project to rectify these issues.

Complaint received from patient regarding a possible misdiagnosis in A&E.

The Trust apologised that the patient was not provided with the appropriate discharge documentation and after review of the case, assured the patient that all care and treatment given was appropriate at the time of the patient’s presentation.

Complaint received via email from a car park user regarding the charges they incurred whilst the car parking ticket machines were out of service.

After investigation, it was identified that on this particular date there was a site wide problem with the ticket machines which was quickly fixed. We apologised for the manner in which the car parking staff spoke with the patient and for her poor experience.

Patient complained regarding their cancelled outpatient appointment and the poor communication surrounding this.

We apologised for the poor communication the patient experienced and recognised the inconvenience caused to them. In light of the patient’s concerns, the Appointments Centre have reviewed their booking processes to ensure that instances like these do not occur in the future.

Complaint received from daughter of patient who was dissatisfied with the communication surrounding their mother’s discharge from the Trust with concerns raised regarding their mother’s admission.

The Trust apologised for the poor communication experienced by both the patient and their daughter. A Trust wide communication was circulated to all wards reminding them to refer all IBS patients to the Dietetics Team.

Daughter of patient raised concerns regarding her father’s A&E attendances and raised questions regarding his care and treatment.

It was identified that this complaint should be investigated further by the Clinical Governance Facilitators with a comprehensive report which was actioned immediately.

The Trust received a complaint from a patient regarding the poor communication they had experienced in the Trauma and Orthopaedics Clinic and concerns raised over the pain they were experiencing following their surgery.

The Trust apologised that the patient was not given clear advice following his surgery and for the appointment issues experienced.  The importance of clear communication was reiterated to staff and the complaint was shared anonymously with staff for reflective learning.

Complaint received from the mother of a patient regarding the communication surrounding her son’s Ear, Nose and Throat appointments.

We apologised for the poor communication both the complainant and the patient experienced and for the inconvenience caused. The Appointments Centre has since reviewed their processes to help ensure that instances like these do not reoccur.

Complaint received from patient regarding their care and treatment in the Maxillo-Facial Department at the Trust and the poor communication between the patient and the Medical Team

The Trust apologised for the miscommunication the patient experienced in the clinic and shared their complaint anonymously with the Maxillo-Facial Team for reflective learning.

Email received from patient regarding her birthing experience at the Trust and concern over the lack of monitoring given to her and her baby.

After reviewing the patient’s care and treatment, the Trust advised that the care and treatment given was appropriate but recognised that there was a delay in transfer between wards. The Trust apologised and shared the complaint anonymously with the Women and Children’s Team for reflective learning.

Complaint received from patient with the concern of a missed diagnosis in the Trust’s A&E Department.

The Trust apologised that the doctor did not introduce themselves and that she felt that her concerns were dismissed. The importance of introductions and good communication was reiterated to the A&E nursing and Medical Team.

Complaint received from family of patient regarding their discharge from Eashing Ward.

We apologised that the patient was not discharged in the appropriate clothing and recognised the distress caused to both the patient and their family. The complaint was discussed at the Eashing Ward monthly meeting for reflective learning with all of the nursing staff.

The Trust received a complaint from the son of patient regarding the communication with both the patient and their family regarding their discharge from the Trust.

The Trust apologised that the family’s request was not appropriately documented and assured them that in future, ward staff will ensure that any requests are documented in the patient’s medical records and communicated with the ward’s Medical and Nursing Teams.

Complaint received from patient regarding issues they had experienced with arranging their outpatient appointments and difficulty contacting the Gastroenterology Secretaries.

The patient was contacted via telephone by Julie Wardle, Assistant Speciality Manger for Acute Medicine who discussed the patient’s concerns with them and arranged for their outpatient appointment to be rebooked.

The Trust received a complaint from a patient regarding inaccuracies in a Cardiology clinic letter and Cardiology Administration

We apologised for the difficulty the patient had experienced and amended the clinic letter and sent a copy to the patient. We assured the patient that the department is now fully staffed with all administration duties up to date, which will help to ensure that instances like these do not reoccur in the future.

Complaint received from mother of patient unhappy with delays they had experienced in A&E.

The Trust apologised for their experience and recognised the distress caused to both the complainant and the patient. The Trust advised that it is necessary for A&E assessments and clinical observations to be carried out during each attendance and apologised if this was not appropriately communicated at the time.

Complaint received from patient regarding the attitude of a doctor during their outpatient’s appointment.

We apologised for the attitude of the doctor and for the distress caused to the patient. This complaint was shared with the doctor and their manager for reflective learning and the patient was arranged a further outpatient appointment at the Trust with a new Consultant.

Complaint received from the parents of a patient regarding the patient’s care and treatment at the Trust and querying the management of their medical condition.

The Trust’s Medical Director met with the parents of the patient to discuss their queries and concerns with them and subsequently discussed their case with colleagues at Great Ormond Street, and Consultant Paediatricians at the Trust.

Upheld Complaints-September/October/ November 2017.

The family of a patient contacted the Trust as they were unhappy with the communication from a doctor, and felt there was a lack of compassion with regards to the information that was being relayed.

The Trust apologised for the lack of compassion given and the poor communication, and recognised how distressing this was for them both. This was subsequently shared with the team to reflect and learn from.

 

Complaint received from mother of patient regarding the hygiene of a doctor in A&E.

The Trust apologised for the distress caused and reminded staff in A&E of the importance of clinical hygiene and protecting patients from infections.

 

The son of patient raised concerns regarding his mother’s discharge, and the process involved in this.

We recognised that a particular assessment should have been carried out during the patient’s admission and we apologised that this did not happen. Learning points have been shared with the ward teams.

 

Complaint received from daughter of a patient regarding her late father’s care at the Trust, with the question of why a particular operation did not take place.

The Trust recognised that this would require further investigations and this would be carried out by the Clinical Governance Team. We apologised to the complainant for the concern caused to her and her family during this difficult time.

 

The father of patient wrote to the Trust with concerns regarding his son’s cardiology treatment which has caused an impact on his son’s health.

The Trust apologised for the delays in the patient’s cardiology treatment and subsequently carried out a Root Cause Analysis Investigation to further address these concerns.

 

The wife of a patient contacted the Trust regarding the attitude of a doctor on Onslow Ward.

We apologised for the distress caused to the patient and their family and fed this back to Onslow ward team for reflective learning and to improve future practice.

 

Complaint received from a patient’s wife regarding her husband’s treatment on Frensham Ward.

The Trust recognised that there were several errors caused during this patient’s treatment and shared these with the ward and medical teams for reflective learning. We apologised to the patient and his wife and recognised the distress caused to them both.

 

A letter was received from a patient regarding their concern over an injury sustained during childbirth.

The Clinical Director for Obstetrics and Gynaecology, agreed to investigate the concerns raised and share the outcome of investigations directly with the patient once this was completed.

 

A letter of complaint was received from a patient regarding their cancelled outpatient’s appointment.

We explained to the patient why this appointment was not able to be rebooked at the point of cancellation and apologised for the inconvenience caused.

 

Complaint received regarding the attitude of a member of staff in the Trust’s cashier’s office.

The Trust apologised for the behaviour of the member of staff and that their encounter with the cashier’s office was not satisfactory. This was subsequently shared with the team working in the cashier’s office for reflective learning.

 

A patient wrote to the Trust to complain about her birthing experience and the lack of pain relief given. The patient also raised concerns about the care and treatment given following her birth.

After reviewing the patient’s medical records, the Trust advised that the care and treatment of this patient was managed appropriately, but recognised that the Maternity Unit required improvements to their current written handover process. A meeting was also offered to the patient to discuss their concerns further.

 

A patient contacted the Trust as they were unhappy with their experience during childbirth, particularly the care and treatment provided by the midwife and maternity team.

The Trust apologised for several errors made and recognised the distress caused to the patient. As a result of her concerns, a section of the Clinical Governance newsletter was dedicated to identity checks as a reminder to all staff of the importance of this.

 

The daughter of patient raised concerns about the care and treatment her mother was provided by the dieticians and the poor communication surrounding her mother’s care.

We apologised to the daughter for her mother’s experience and identified several learning points from the concerns raised. These were shared with the appropriate teams for reflective learning.

 

An Advocacy Service contacted the Trust on behalf of a patient regarding their care and treatment whilst an inpatient with us.

We recognised that a personal belongings check was not carried out appropriately and this was shared with ward staff as a reminder on how these checks need to be carried out in future. We recognised the distress caused to the patient and apologised for this.

 

A complaint was received from a patient who attended A&E and was later discharged. The patient was then diagnosed with a condition that should have been identified upon her initial presentation.

It was recognised that this complaint required further investigations which would be carried out by the clinical governance team. The patient was informed of this and the findings of the investigations would be shared with the patient in due course.

 

The daughter of a patient contacted the Trust regarding the care and treatment that her mother received as an inpatient here. A specific query was raised with regards to the delay in providing a CT scan.

The Trust apologised that we were unable to keep the patient as an inpatient for her CT scan and reassured the complainant that every effort was made to ensure the appropriate care and treatment was given.

 

A patient contacted the Trust as she had been booked an appointment that was not needed, and the distress caused due to having to sit in the same waiting area as other pregnant ladies following a miscarriage.

The Trust apologised for the distress caused and informed the patient of the current building work in the Trust to relocate the early pregnancy services to allow for a dedicated space to facilitate privacy during this difficult time. We also apologised for the incorrectly booked appointment and raised this with staff concerned.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding his recent Endoscopy at the Trust and the attitude of the consultant carrying out this procedure.

We recognised that this patient’s biopsies should have been reported earlier, for which we apologised; this was also shared with the teams for reflective learning.

 

The wife of a patient contacted the Trust querying why her husband was not referred to another Trust sooner.

After investigating the complainants concerns, it was identified that a further investigation into these matter was needed by the Clinical Governance Team.

 

A patient contacted the Trust with a complaint relating to her care and treatment in Urology.

The Trust apologised for the delays in the patient’s Urology outpatient appointments and that she was not appropriately notified of the clinic delays.  This was shared with the Urology team for reflective learning and to ensure that communication is improved in clinics.

 

Complaint received regarding inaccuracies in Ophthalmology clinic letters and the delays when attending the clinic for appointments.

We apologised to the complainant for the inaccuracies in the clinic letters and rectified these upon receipt of the complaint. This letter was resent to the patient with the corrections made. We apologised for the clinic delays and recognised the distress caused.

 

A patient contacted the Trust to raise concerns regarding inaccuracies in a clinic letter from Gastroenterology.

The Trust apologised for these inaccuracies, and ensured that a corrected clinic letter was created and sent to the patient and their GP.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding his care and treatment and the delays in receiving correspondence from the Trust.

We recognised that there was a delay from receiving the patient’s referral, and the first appointment being booked which was due to staff absence in the department. We apologised for the issues caused and advised that extra administrative staff had been appointed to help rectify these issues.

 

The family member of a patient contacted the Trust regarding the care and treatment given on Onslow Ward.

The Trust apologised for the families experience and recognised the distress caused to them. A meeting was offered to the complainant with the ward staff to further discuss their concerns.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding their care and treatment in the Musculoskeletal Unit and the attitude of staff in the Radiology Department.

We apologised for the attitude of the staff member and this was shared with the department for reflective learning. A further appointment was arranged for the patient in the Musculoskeletal Unit to discuss her concerns.

 

An email was received by an Ophthalmic Secretary regarding the behaviour of a Doctor in the Eye clinic.

The Trust apologised for the behaviour of the doctor and recognised the concern caused. The doctor’s details with the General Medical Council were provided should the complainant wish to pursue this further.

 

A patient’s relative contacted the Trust with concerns over the patient’s care and treatment whilst an inpatient here and the poor communication from staff during this time.

We apologised that the communication with the patient’s family was poor during their admission, and this was shared with the ward concerned to implement better communication with patients and their families in the future.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding their difficulty contacting the Rheumatology Secretaries.

The Trust identified that the issue the patient was experiencing was primarily concerning an external medication provider, and apologised for the difficulties they experienced contacting the Rheumatology Secretaries.

 

A patient contacted the Trust to complain about her care and treatment under the care of Gynaecological Oncology.

After investigating this patient’s care and treatment pathway it was identified that a more in depth investigation was needed by the Clinical Governance Team.

 

The daughter of a patient contacted the Trust regarding the care and treatment her late father received on Onslow Ward.

The Trust apologised for several errors identified in her father’s care and treatment and offered a meeting to the patient’s family with the Oncology Matron to further discuss her concerns.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding their experience during their admission. Specifically concerning the manner in which a procedure in Radiology was carried out.

We apologised for the patient’s experience and for the poor communication throughout this procedure. This was shared with the Radiology Department for reflective learning.

 

A patient was unhappy with the delay in their biopsy results being sent to them and the difficulty contacting a medical secretary in the Trust after leaving several messages.

After reviewing the patient’s medical records, we recognised that the patient should have been booked an appointment with a clinical nurse specialist, and we apologised that this did not happen. The patient was arranged an appointment in an outpatients clinic to discuss these results.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding incorrect information on their discharge letter that was not reflective of their condition.

The Complaints Team arranged for the discharge letter to be amended to accurately reflect the patient’s admission. The new discharge letter was subsequently sent to the patient and their GP.

 

The mother of a patient contacted the Trust regarding delays in the Trauma and Orthopaedic Clinic and issues with the car parking machines.

The Lead Fracture Clinic Sister contacted the complainant by telephone to discuss her concerns with her and apologise for the delays in the clinic. We informed the patient that the Trust have made several applications to increase the number of car parking spaces we have, but that this is a lengthy process.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding the delay in the Musculoskeletal Unit when attending for an outpatient’s appointment and the difficulty in rescheduling her appointments.

We apologised to the patient for the delays she experienced in clinic, and advised that unfortunately, we were unable to reschedule outpatient appointments more than once as per Trust policy.

 

Complaint from a patient regarding a possible misdiagnosis in A&E.

We arranged for the patient to attend A&E for a further investigation and admission and subsequently arranged an outpatient’s appointment to further discuss surgical options.

 

Upheld Complaints- June/July/ August 2017.

The Trust received a Complaint from a patient regarding her difficulty obtaining advice from her midwife.

The Trust has apologized for the patient’s experience and the staff involved has subsequently been informed and have reflected on their communication skills.

 

The father of a patient raised concerns regarding his daughter’s clinical treatment and the attitude of a Doctor.

The Trust apologised for the lack of reassurance given and the poor communication, and subsequently shared this gentleman’s concern with the team to learn from.

 

The partner of a patient complained regarding their partner’s treatment and lack of communication.

The Surgeon concerned has apologised for the patient’s experience and arranged to meet with the patient to discuss their concerns.

 

The guardian of a patient telephoned to complain regarding the communication surrounding the patient’s outpatient appointments.

.The Outpatients Manager apologised for this and spoke to the bookings team to ensure that these issues do not happen again.

 

Email received from complainant regarding the delay in providing medication.

The Trust recognised the delay in the department and apologised for the distress caused to the patient and offered for them to have a meeting with the medical director if required.

 

Complaint received about the attitude of a receptionist in the Outpatients Department when attending an appointment with their son.

The Administration Manager apologised for their experience, and advised that the receptionist has been asked to reflect on her communication with patients.

 

Father of a patient raised a concern regarding his daughter’s treatment and discharge.

The Trust apologised for the patients experience and ensured to review their treatment plan. We recognised an internal miscommunication error and raised this with the department concerned for them to learn from and rectify.

 

Husband of patient raised concerns with us regarding the nursing care on Frensham Ward.

The Trust apologised for the patient’s experience and raised their concerns with the Matron on Frensham Ward and nurses responsible for their care for them to reflect and learn from.

 

The mother of a patient was unhappy with the A&E consultant who saw her daughter.

.The Trust apologised and recognised there were issues to learn from, this was also raised this with the consultant concerned to reflect on and learn from.

.

Complaint from patient who was unhappy with their response received from PALS and was unhappy with appointment processes and policies.

We apologised for the patient’s experience, and explained the new processes and advised that we will review this system in the Outpatients Team to see if there is a better way to streamline this process.

 

Patient unhappy with the attitude of the midwife and the care and treatment provided when she went into labour.

 We apologised for the poor experience and assured the patient that this was shared with those concerned for reflective learning.

 

Complaint received about the car parking system and the signs in the car park.

The Trust apologised for their experience, and advised that our third party company would be reviewing the signs and slow speed of the machines. We also advised that they are looking into a better system and ticketing measures.

 

The father of a patient raised concerns regarding their experience with a doctor in the A&E Department.

The Trust apologised for their experience and has spoken to the doctor involved who has reflected on his actions.

 

Daughter of a patient raised concerns about the nursing care on Tilford and Hindhead Wards.

We apologised for the nursing care her father received, and that the communication was below the standards we expect. This was raised with the staff involved and in ward meetings to ensure learning was shared throughout the departments.

 

Wife of a patient made a complaint regarding her husband’s care and treatment.

The Trust reviewed the patient’s treatment plan to ensure it was managed appropriately and apologised for the patient’s experience and for the lack of communication.

 

The daughter of a patient complained regarding an accident her mother had on a ward and the lack of information provided on her discharge summary.

We apologised for the lack of communication and an incident form was completed and investigated by the ward manager. We also offered to meet with the daughter if she had any further points of concern.

 

Complaint received from carers regarding a patient’s discharge.

The Trust has apologised for the patient’s experience and recognised there were improvements to be made on the ward concerned. A two nurse checking procedure of all medications to take home prior to discharge has since been introduced.

 

Patient was unhappy with the receptionist in the eye clinic.

The Trust has apologised for their experience and the receptionist’s attitude and has fed this back to the receptionist’s manager to monitor.

 

 Complaint received from a family regarding the communication received from the doctor caring for their father.

The junior doctor apologised for this and advised that he will reflect on how he communicated with the family to ensure he manages this better in the future.

 

A patient complained regarding their care and treatment and lack of communication.

We apologised that their experience did not meet their expectations, and have fed this back to the doctor concerned to learn from.

 

Patient complained about the nursing care and consultant care during her procedure and aftercare.

.The Trust apologised to the patient that we did not meet her expectations and arranged for the patient to be seen by their consultant to address any further points of concern.

 

Patient complained about the car parking facilities and problems with the machines accepting cash and card payments.

.We apologised for their parking experience and assured them that the issues with the machines would be looked into.

 

Complaint received from patient who was discharged back to their GP after waiting a long time for their appointment.

The appointments centre recognised that they should not have been discharged from our service and the managers have fed this back to the bookings team to ensure this does not happen again.

 

Patient was unhappy with the delay in their procedure in their outpatient’s appointment.

The Trust apologised for their experience and arranged for the patient to be seen by the consultant in clinic to discuss his concerns with him fully.

Complaint from patient regarding the time took for an internal referral to be typed.

We apologised for the delay and addressed this with the department concerned who put in measures to ensure this does not happen again.

 

Daughter raised a complaint about the delay in providing investigation findings to her mother.

We apologised for this and sent a copy of the findings to the complainant.

 

Daughter complained regarding her father’s care and discharge.

The Trust apologised for her father’s experience and fed this back to the Emergency Department Team.

 

Patient complained regarding the treatment they received from a Traineee GP and Registrar.

The Trust apologised for their experience and recognised that the clinic letter should have correctly stated who the patient would be seeing that day and fed this back to the bookings team to rectify.

 

Complaint raised by family who received a clinic letter for a member of their family that had passed away.

The Trust apologised for this and recognised the distress caused. We then ensured to  update our hospital records accordingly.

 

Friend of a patient complied regarding the poor attitude of a Health Care Assistant.

Millbridge Ward apologised for this and recognised there was learning to be had from this experience. This was fed back to ward staff concerned to reflect and learn from.

 

Complaint from a patient unhappy with the results of their operation.

The consultant in charge of the patient’s care arranged to see them in clinic and subsequently responded to all of their concerns.

 

Patient unhappy with the outcome of their clinic appointment and had difficulty contacting secretaries.

The Trust apologised for this and for their difficulty in contacting the secretary’s. This was fed back to the Speciality Manager to ensure processes were put in place to cover the secretary’s telephones during times of sickness and absence.

 

 

 

 

©2019 Royal Surrey County Hospital

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?