Upheld Complaints

Below, please find a list of anonymised upheld complaints and the action taken by the Trust in response:

Upheld Complaints-March/April/May 2018

Complaint received from patient regarding administration processes in the Cardiology Department.

We have apologised to the patient for the difficulty she experienced contacting the department and recognised that this was due to staff shortages. We have informed the patient that the department is now fully staffed and that all administrative duties are up to date and processes have been implemented to ensure that instances like this do not reoccur.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding their cancelled Ophthalmology appointments at the Trust and the difficulty that they have experienced contacting the Urology Secretaries.

The Trust apologised for the patient’s experience and has assured the patient that in light of their concerns, new processes have been implemented to ensure that instances like these do not reoccur in the future.

 

The husband of a patient raised concerns regarding his wife’s discharge from Bramshott Ward.

We apologised for the delays the patient experienced and recognised that there was a delay between the patient being told she was ready for discharge and her check x-ray being performed.  In light of their concerns, Bramshott Ward staff were reminded of the importance of clear communication with patients and their relatives at all times.

 

A patient wrote to the Trust regarding their experience during their admission with concerns that there was a delay in receiving an MRI scan of their spine causing them nerve damage.

Upon review of the care and treatment that the patient received during her admission, we have assured the patient that this was appropriate given her presentation at the time. This was supported by the advice given from St George’s Hospital . We recognised that the communication between Trust staff and the patient should have been better and we apologised for the subsequent distress that this has caused.

 

Complaint received from the son of a patient regarding the care and treatment that his mother received during her admission to the Trust.

The Trust apologised for his mother’s experience and assured him that upon review, the care and treatment given to his mother was appropriate. A meeting was offered to the complainant to discuss his concerns with Trust staff however this was declined.

 

A patient raised a formal complaint after they were unhappy with the response they received via the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) regarding the attitude of a consultant during her outpatient appointment.

The Trust apologised to the patient for her experience during her appointment and that the consultation room door was left open. We recognised that this should have been discussed with the patient at the beginning of the consultation.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the inaccuracies in a clinic letter he received from the Trust and issues surrounding his recent surgery.

We apologised to the patient for the inaccuracies contained in the clinic letter and amended this for his records. We recognised that a letter from a consultant within the Trust addressing his concerns was not received by the patient and this was subsequently resent.

 

A patient’s sister-in-law contacted the Trust to raise concerns regarding the patient’s end of life care.

The Trust apologised for the families experienced and recognised the distress caused to them at this sad and difficult time. We informed the family of the reasons behind the decisions that were made during the patient’s admission and addressed all of their concerns in a written response.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the care and treatment they have received in the Rheumatology Department with a question of why they were not referred to the Trauma and Orthopaedics (T&O) Department.

We have apologised to the patient and recognised that they should have been referred to T&O upon receipt of their scan results. We have assured the patient that additional workforce has been recruited in the Rheumatology Department to help to ensure that instances like these do not reoccur.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the care and treatment that she received at the Trust when she was suffering from a miscarriage.

The patient raised several questions in her correspondence regarding her care and treatment which the Trust answered in detail and we recognised through our investigations that the booklet provided to patient’s experiencing early bleeding during pregnancy could be improved. The A&E Department will be working with the Early Pregnancy Unit to update this leaflet.

 

A patient wrote to the Trust to raise concerns regarding the attitude of the doctor who treated her in the Emergency Assessment Unit (EAU) and concern that she was misdiagnosed.

We have apologised to the patient for her experience and recognised that her care and treatment pathway was not appropriate. We assured the staff member had been spoken with regarding her concerns.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding a potential breach in confidentiality.

This matter was investigated by the Trust’s Information Governance Lead and we assured the patient that none of her details were shared outside the Trust or with any unauthorised personnel.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the care and treatment that they received in the Trauma and Orthopaedics Department with questions raised regarding their surgery in December 2017.

We arranged for the patient to have an outpatient appointment to discuss their symptoms and a subsequent referral was made to the pain clinic. We also wrote to the patient addressing all of their outstanding concerns and apologised for the distress caused to them.

 

The wife of a patient wrote to the Trust with concerns regarding her husband’s prostate surgery in 2015 and a query of why a surgical clip was left in his body.

We assured the complainant that the surgical clip used during her husband’s surgery is designed to be retained and apologised that this was not explained to her husband at the time of his surgery.

 

Complaint received from the daughter of a patient regarding her mother’s fall in St Luke’s Cancer Centre.

The Trust apologised to the complainant and recognised the distress caused to her and her mother as a result of this incident.  

 

A patient contacted the Trust as his Gastroenterology appointments were cancelled and rebooked several times.

After investigating the patient’s concerns, we recognised that there was an issue relating to the address that the Trust had recorded for the patient on our patient administration system. This was updated and a new appointment was arranged for the patient.

 

We received a complaint from the daughter of a patient who was dissatisfied with the communication surrounding her mother’s discharge and raised several concerns regarding her mother’s admission to the Trust.

We apologised to the daughter for her experience and as a result of the findings of our investigation, a Trustwide circulation was sent to remind ward staff to refer all patients with Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) to the dieticians.

 

Guildford and Waverley Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) contacted the Trust with a complaint from the mother of a patient querying why her daughter was not referred for further treatment of her vocal nodules.

The Trust recognised that the patient should have been referred to Speech and Language Therapy for further treatment and apologised that this did not happen. We recognised that this was due to a miscommunication in the Ear, Nose and Throat department and this was raised and discussed at their Department Meeting.

 

The Trust received a complaint from the daughter of a patient regarding the care and treatment that her mother received at Milford Hospital.

After investigating the complaint, we assured the complainant that the staff member concerned was spoken with regarding the patient’s experience and asked to reflect on their practice. We apologised for the distress caused to both the daughter and her mother.

 

A patient contacted the Trust with a complaint regarding his gallbladder removal in April 2017.

The patient’s consultant contacted him by telephone to discuss his concerns with him and also offered a meeting to help resolve his concerns.

 

Complaint received from patient regarding the communication issues they have experienced with the Cardiology Department

The Trust apologised for the patient’s experience and recognised that this was due to the administrative issues within the Cardiology Department. We informed the patient of the improvements that have been made to the department to ensure that instances like these do not reoccur.

 

The husband of a patient wrote to the Trust regarding the care and treatment that his wife received on Onslow Ward prior to her death.

We apologised for the complainants experience and recognised that this would not have offered reassurance to him and his family at this sad and difficult time. We provided information to the complainant on the reasons particular decisions were made regarding his wife’s care and treatment and answered the questions that he had raised.

 

A patient contacted the Trust with concerns of the lack of communication he received from the consultant during his outpatient appointment.

We arranged a further outpatient appointment for the patient and ensured that an interpreter was appropriately booked.

 

The Trust received a complaint via Jeremy Hunt’s office regarding the difficulty a patient had experienced booking his Eye Clinic appointment.

The Trust apologised for the difficulty the patient had experienced and his concerns were addressed through a telephone conversation with the Trust’s Outpatient Administration Manager. A new appointment was made for the patient in the Eye Clinic and details of this appointment were sent out in a letter.

 

The wife of a patient contacted the Trust with concern that her husband’s medical records had been confused with another patient.

We apologised for the confusion caused and recognised that the incorrect patient’s details had been filed in his medical records. We assured the complainant that these had now been removed.

 

Complaint received from a patient who was unhappy with the response provided to her by the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) regarding her post-operative care as an inpatient.

The Trust apologised to the patient for the distress caused to her and ensured that her discharge summary was appropriately amended and a copy sent through to her GP practice.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding the difficulty she had experienced contacting the Urology Secretaries to arrange her outpatient appointments.

The Trust apologised for the attitude of the secretary she spoke with during her telephone call and assured her that the member of staff was spoken with regarding her concerns. We informed the patient that in light of her concerns, the Trust’s Medical Director had reviewed her care and treatment and a letter of referral was written to a Consultant within the Trust to ensure that her care and treatment is coordinated appropriately.

 

The Trust received a complaint from a patient regarding her experience in A&E and felt that she was rushed and not listened to.

We assured that patient that upon review, the management plan chosen was reasonable given her presentation at the time and apologised for the poor communication she received during her attendance.

 

A patient wrote to the Trust with concerns regarding her hysterectomy and that she felt that the Trust had been negligent.

The patient’s concerns were further investigated  by the Trust’s Clinical Governance Facilitators and a Learning Panel took place to identify areas for improvement within the Trust to help ensure that instances like these do not reoccur.

 

Upheld Complaints-December 2017/January/ February 2018

The Trust received a complaint from the son of a patient who passed away at the Trust with several questions regarding his father’s care and treatment.

The Trust reviewed the patient’s care and treatment and advised that the care given was appropriate, but recognised that there was a miscommunication error between the teams caring for the patient. We apologised for this error and recognised the distress caused to the family as a result and the complaint was shared anonymously with the Teams for reflective learning.

Complaint received via email from the father of a patient querying the rules of admitting patients to Hascombe Ward and highlighting issues with his daughter’s admission.

The Trust apologised for not admitting the patient to Hascombe Ward and in light of the complainant’s concerns, the Trust policy for the Hascombe Ward admission criteria was revised.

 Complaint received from patient raising concerns of complications following a procedure performed at the Trust in October 2017.

A meeting was held with the complainant, their consultant and the Speciality Manager for Urology and a subsequent letter was sent apologising for the shortcomings identified.

Complaint received from a patient regarding her recent birthing experience at the Trust.

We apologised that the patient’s birthing experience was affected by the behaviour of Trust staff and have thanked the patient for her suggestions of improvements, each of which have been discussed at Women and Children’s governance meetings.

Complaint received from the daughter and son of patient regarding their father’s discharge from Albury Ward.

The Trust recognised that there were some shortcomings in the patients discharge arrangements with regards to the communication between the ward and the patient’s family. The Trust apologised and recognised the distress caused to both the patient and the family and Albury ward staff were reminded of the importance of good communication.

Complaint received from the husband of a patient regarding his wife’s care and treatment in A&E.

We recognised that the patient could have been given an extra dose of analgesia and the nursing documentation was not of a high standard. This complaint was shared with the ward anonymously to ensure staff could learn from the patient’s experience and improve their documentation.

The Trust received a complaint from the son of a patient regarding his mother’s care and treatment at the Trust during her admission.

A meeting was offered to the complainant with Trust staff and the Trust apologised for the delay the patient experienced in A&E and for the distress caused to both the patient and the family at the time.

Complaint received from patient who was concerned that they were not reviewed in a timely manner following their hand surgery.

The Speciality Manager for Trauma and Orthopaedics telephoned the patient and apologised for the patient’s unsatisfactory care pathway, and arranged for the patient to have a further appointment in the outpatient’s clinic to raise any further concerns with a Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon.

Complaint received via The Right Honourable Jeremy Hunt’s office from a patient regarding waiting times in the Trauma and Orthopaedics outpatients’ clinic.

The Trust apologised for the delay that the patient had experienced, and reiterated to staff the importance of informing patients of any delays and maintaining good communication throughout the clinic.

The Trust received a complaint via email from the mother of a patient regarding the patient’s attendance to A&E and querying if a diagnosis was missed.

We recognised that the communication between the A&E doctor and the Paediatric Doctor could have been better. The complaint was shared anonymously with both the A&E Department and the Paediatric Department for reflective learning and to identify areas of improvement in communication between the two departments.

Complaint received from patient regarding the care and treatment they received from the Gynaecology Department with the query of why their diagnosis was missed.

The Trust apologised that the patient’s rare condition was not identified during their admissions to the Trust. The complaint was anonymised and shared with the ward for reflective learning and identification of learning points.

Email received from patient regarding the delay between their referral to the Trust and their appointment in the pain clinic.

We apologised for the inconvenience caused by these delays, and recognised that this was due to the ongoing issues experienced with our Patient Administration System APAS. The Outpatients Administration Team is working hard on an Outpatients Transformation Project to rectify these issues.

Complaint received from patient regarding a possible misdiagnosis in A&E.

The Trust apologised that the patient was not provided with the appropriate discharge documentation and after review of the case, assured the patient that all care and treatment given was appropriate at the time of the patient’s presentation.

Complaint received via email from a car park user regarding the charges they incurred whilst the car parking ticket machines were out of service.

After investigation, it was identified that on this particular date there was a site wide problem with the ticket machines which was quickly fixed. We apologised for the manner in which the car parking staff spoke with the patient and for her poor experience.

Patient complained regarding their cancelled outpatient appointment and the poor communication surrounding this.

We apologised for the poor communication the patient experienced and recognised the inconvenience caused to them. In light of the patient’s concerns, the Appointments Centre have reviewed their booking processes to ensure that instances like these do not occur in the future.

Complaint received from daughter of patient who was dissatisfied with the communication surrounding their mother’s discharge from the Trust with concerns raised regarding their mother’s admission.

The Trust apologised for the poor communication experienced by both the patient and their daughter. A Trust wide communication was circulated to all wards reminding them to refer all IBS patients to the Dietetics Team.

Daughter of patient raised concerns regarding her father’s A&E attendances and raised questions regarding his care and treatment.

It was identified that this complaint should be investigated further by the Clinical Governance Facilitators with a comprehensive report which was actioned immediately.

The Trust received a complaint from a patient regarding the poor communication they had experienced in the Trauma and Orthopaedics Clinic and concerns raised over the pain they were experiencing following their surgery.

The Trust apologised that the patient was not given clear advice following his surgery and for the appointment issues experienced.  The importance of clear communication was reiterated to staff and the complaint was shared anonymously with staff for reflective learning.

Complaint received from the mother of a patient regarding the communication surrounding her son’s Ear, Nose and Throat appointments.

We apologised for the poor communication both the complainant and the patient experienced and for the inconvenience caused. The Appointments Centre has since reviewed their processes to help ensure that instances like these do not reoccur.

Complaint received from patient regarding their care and treatment in the Maxillo-Facial Department at the Trust and the poor communication between the patient and the Medical Team

The Trust apologised for the miscommunication the patient experienced in the clinic and shared their complaint anonymously with the Maxillo-Facial Team for reflective learning.

Email received from patient regarding her birthing experience at the Trust and concern over the lack of monitoring given to her and her baby.

After reviewing the patient’s care and treatment, the Trust advised that the care and treatment given was appropriate but recognised that there was a delay in transfer between wards. The Trust apologised and shared the complaint anonymously with the Women and Children’s Team for reflective learning.

Complaint received from patient with the concern of a missed diagnosis in the Trust’s A&E Department.

The Trust apologised that the doctor did not introduce themselves and that she felt that her concerns were dismissed. The importance of introductions and good communication was reiterated to the A&E nursing and Medical Team.

Complaint received from family of patient regarding their discharge from Eashing Ward.

We apologised that the patient was not discharged in the appropriate clothing and recognised the distress caused to both the patient and their family. The complaint was discussed at the Eashing Ward monthly meeting for reflective learning with all of the nursing staff.

The Trust received a complaint from the son of patient regarding the communication with both the patient and their family regarding their discharge from the Trust.

The Trust apologised that the family’s request was not appropriately documented and assured them that in future, ward staff will ensure that any requests are documented in the patient’s medical records and communicated with the ward’s Medical and Nursing Teams.

Complaint received from patient regarding issues they had experienced with arranging their outpatient appointments and difficulty contacting the Gastroenterology Secretaries.

The patient was contacted via telephone by Julie Wardle, Assistant Speciality Manger for Acute Medicine who discussed the patient’s concerns with them and arranged for their outpatient appointment to be rebooked.

The Trust received a complaint from a patient regarding inaccuracies in a Cardiology clinic letter and Cardiology Administration

We apologised for the difficulty the patient had experienced and amended the clinic letter and sent a copy to the patient. We assured the patient that the department is now fully staffed with all administration duties up to date, which will help to ensure that instances like these do not reoccur in the future.

Complaint received from mother of patient unhappy with delays they had experienced in A&E.

The Trust apologised for their experience and recognised the distress caused to both the complainant and the patient. The Trust advised that it is necessary for A&E assessments and clinical observations to be carried out during each attendance and apologised if this was not appropriately communicated at the time.

Complaint received from patient regarding the attitude of a doctor during their outpatient’s appointment.

We apologised for the attitude of the doctor and for the distress caused to the patient. This complaint was shared with the doctor and their manager for reflective learning and the patient was arranged a further outpatient appointment at the Trust with a new Consultant.

Complaint received from the parents of a patient regarding the patient’s care and treatment at the Trust and querying the management of their medical condition.

The Trust’s Medical Director met with the parents of the patient to discuss their queries and concerns with them and subsequently discussed their case with colleagues at Great Ormond Street, and Consultant Paediatricians at the Trust.

Upheld Complaints-September/October/ November 2017.

The family of a patient contacted the Trust as they were unhappy with the communication from a doctor, and felt there was a lack of compassion with regards to the information that was being relayed.

The Trust apologised for the lack of compassion given and the poor communication, and recognised how distressing this was for them both. This was subsequently shared with the team to reflect and learn from.

 

Complaint received from mother of patient regarding the hygiene of a doctor in A&E.

The Trust apologised for the distress caused and reminded staff in A&E of the importance of clinical hygiene and protecting patients from infections.

 

The son of patient raised concerns regarding his mother’s discharge, and the process involved in this.

We recognised that a particular assessment should have been carried out during the patient’s admission and we apologised that this did not happen. Learning points have been shared with the ward teams.

 

Complaint received from daughter of a patient regarding her late father’s care at the Trust, with the question of why a particular operation did not take place.

The Trust recognised that this would require further investigations and this would be carried out by the Clinical Governance Team. We apologised to the complainant for the concern caused to her and her family during this difficult time.

 

The father of patient wrote to the Trust with concerns regarding his son’s cardiology treatment which has caused an impact on his son’s health.

The Trust apologised for the delays in the patient’s cardiology treatment and subsequently carried out a Root Cause Analysis Investigation to further address these concerns.

 

The wife of a patient contacted the Trust regarding the attitude of a doctor on Onslow Ward.

We apologised for the distress caused to the patient and their family and fed this back to Onslow ward team for reflective learning and to improve future practice.

 

Complaint received from a patient’s wife regarding her husband’s treatment on Frensham Ward.

The Trust recognised that there were several errors caused during this patient’s treatment and shared these with the ward and medical teams for reflective learning. We apologised to the patient and his wife and recognised the distress caused to them both.

 

A letter was received from a patient regarding their concern over an injury sustained during childbirth.

The Clinical Director for Obstetrics and Gynaecology, agreed to investigate the concerns raised and share the outcome of investigations directly with the patient once this was completed.

 

A letter of complaint was received from a patient regarding their cancelled outpatient’s appointment.

We explained to the patient why this appointment was not able to be rebooked at the point of cancellation and apologised for the inconvenience caused.

 

Complaint received regarding the attitude of a member of staff in the Trust’s cashier’s office.

The Trust apologised for the behaviour of the member of staff and that their encounter with the cashier’s office was not satisfactory. This was subsequently shared with the team working in the cashier’s office for reflective learning.

 

A patient wrote to the Trust to complain about her birthing experience and the lack of pain relief given. The patient also raised concerns about the care and treatment given following her birth.

After reviewing the patient’s medical records, the Trust advised that the care and treatment of this patient was managed appropriately, but recognised that the Maternity Unit required improvements to their current written handover process. A meeting was also offered to the patient to discuss their concerns further.

 

A patient contacted the Trust as they were unhappy with their experience during childbirth, particularly the care and treatment provided by the midwife and maternity team.

The Trust apologised for several errors made and recognised the distress caused to the patient. As a result of her concerns, a section of the Clinical Governance newsletter was dedicated to identity checks as a reminder to all staff of the importance of this.

 

The daughter of patient raised concerns about the care and treatment her mother was provided by the dieticians and the poor communication surrounding her mother’s care.

We apologised to the daughter for her mother’s experience and identified several learning points from the concerns raised. These were shared with the appropriate teams for reflective learning.

 

An Advocacy Service contacted the Trust on behalf of a patient regarding their care and treatment whilst an inpatient with us.

We recognised that a personal belongings check was not carried out appropriately and this was shared with ward staff as a reminder on how these checks need to be carried out in future. We recognised the distress caused to the patient and apologised for this.

 

A complaint was received from a patient who attended A&E and was later discharged. The patient was then diagnosed with a condition that should have been identified upon her initial presentation.

It was recognised that this complaint required further investigations which would be carried out by the clinical governance team. The patient was informed of this and the findings of the investigations would be shared with the patient in due course.

 

The daughter of a patient contacted the Trust regarding the care and treatment that her mother received as an inpatient here. A specific query was raised with regards to the delay in providing a CT scan.

The Trust apologised that we were unable to keep the patient as an inpatient for her CT scan and reassured the complainant that every effort was made to ensure the appropriate care and treatment was given.

 

A patient contacted the Trust as she had been booked an appointment that was not needed, and the distress caused due to having to sit in the same waiting area as other pregnant ladies following a miscarriage.

The Trust apologised for the distress caused and informed the patient of the current building work in the Trust to relocate the early pregnancy services to allow for a dedicated space to facilitate privacy during this difficult time. We also apologised for the incorrectly booked appointment and raised this with staff concerned.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding his recent Endoscopy at the Trust and the attitude of the consultant carrying out this procedure.

We recognised that this patient’s biopsies should have been reported earlier, for which we apologised; this was also shared with the teams for reflective learning.

 

The wife of a patient contacted the Trust querying why her husband was not referred to another Trust sooner.

After investigating the complainants concerns, it was identified that a further investigation into these matter was needed by the Clinical Governance Team.

 

A patient contacted the Trust with a complaint relating to her care and treatment in Urology.

The Trust apologised for the delays in the patient’s Urology outpatient appointments and that she was not appropriately notified of the clinic delays.  This was shared with the Urology team for reflective learning and to ensure that communication is improved in clinics.

 

Complaint received regarding inaccuracies in Ophthalmology clinic letters and the delays when attending the clinic for appointments.

We apologised to the complainant for the inaccuracies in the clinic letters and rectified these upon receipt of the complaint. This letter was resent to the patient with the corrections made. We apologised for the clinic delays and recognised the distress caused.

 

A patient contacted the Trust to raise concerns regarding inaccuracies in a clinic letter from Gastroenterology.

The Trust apologised for these inaccuracies, and ensured that a corrected clinic letter was created and sent to the patient and their GP.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding his care and treatment and the delays in receiving correspondence from the Trust.

We recognised that there was a delay from receiving the patient’s referral, and the first appointment being booked which was due to staff absence in the department. We apologised for the issues caused and advised that extra administrative staff had been appointed to help rectify these issues.

 

The family member of a patient contacted the Trust regarding the care and treatment given on Onslow Ward.

The Trust apologised for the families experience and recognised the distress caused to them. A meeting was offered to the complainant with the ward staff to further discuss their concerns.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding their care and treatment in the Musculoskeletal Unit and the attitude of staff in the Radiology Department.

We apologised for the attitude of the staff member and this was shared with the department for reflective learning. A further appointment was arranged for the patient in the Musculoskeletal Unit to discuss her concerns.

 

An email was received by an Ophthalmic Secretary regarding the behaviour of a Doctor in the Eye clinic.

The Trust apologised for the behaviour of the doctor and recognised the concern caused. The doctor’s details with the General Medical Council were provided should the complainant wish to pursue this further.

 

A patient’s relative contacted the Trust with concerns over the patient’s care and treatment whilst an inpatient here and the poor communication from staff during this time.

We apologised that the communication with the patient’s family was poor during their admission, and this was shared with the ward concerned to implement better communication with patients and their families in the future.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding their difficulty contacting the Rheumatology Secretaries.

The Trust identified that the issue the patient was experiencing was primarily concerning an external medication provider, and apologised for the difficulties they experienced contacting the Rheumatology Secretaries.

 

A patient contacted the Trust to complain about her care and treatment under the care of Gynaecological Oncology.

After investigating this patient’s care and treatment pathway it was identified that a more in depth investigation was needed by the Clinical Governance Team.

 

The daughter of a patient contacted the Trust regarding the care and treatment her late father received on Onslow Ward.

The Trust apologised for several errors identified in her father’s care and treatment and offered a meeting to the patient’s family with the Oncology Matron to further discuss her concerns.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding their experience during their admission. Specifically concerning the manner in which a procedure in Radiology was carried out.

We apologised for the patient’s experience and for the poor communication throughout this procedure. This was shared with the Radiology Department for reflective learning.

 

A patient was unhappy with the delay in their biopsy results being sent to them and the difficulty contacting a medical secretary in the Trust after leaving several messages.

After reviewing the patient’s medical records, we recognised that the patient should have been booked an appointment with a clinical nurse specialist, and we apologised that this did not happen. The patient was arranged an appointment in an outpatients clinic to discuss these results.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding incorrect information on their discharge letter that was not reflective of their condition.

The Complaints Team arranged for the discharge letter to be amended to accurately reflect the patient’s admission. The new discharge letter was subsequently sent to the patient and their GP.

 

The mother of a patient contacted the Trust regarding delays in the Trauma and Orthopaedic Clinic and issues with the car parking machines.

The Lead Fracture Clinic Sister contacted the complainant by telephone to discuss her concerns with her and apologise for the delays in the clinic. We informed the patient that the Trust have made several applications to increase the number of car parking spaces we have, but that this is a lengthy process.

 

Complaint received from a patient regarding the delay in the Musculoskeletal Unit when attending for an outpatient’s appointment and the difficulty in rescheduling her appointments.

We apologised to the patient for the delays she experienced in clinic, and advised that unfortunately, we were unable to reschedule outpatient appointments more than once as per Trust policy.

 

Complaint from a patient regarding a possible misdiagnosis in A&E.

We arranged for the patient to attend A&E for a further investigation and admission and subsequently arranged an outpatient’s appointment to further discuss surgical options.

 

Upheld Complaints- June/July/ August 2017.

The Trust received a Complaint from a patient regarding her difficulty obtaining advice from her midwife.

The Trust has apologized for the patient’s experience and the staff involved has subsequently been informed and have reflected on their communication skills.

 

The father of a patient raised concerns regarding his daughter’s clinical treatment and the attitude of a Doctor.

The Trust apologised for the lack of reassurance given and the poor communication, and subsequently shared this gentleman’s concern with the team to learn from.

 

The partner of a patient complained regarding their partner’s treatment and lack of communication.

The Surgeon concerned has apologised for the patient’s experience and arranged to meet with the patient to discuss their concerns.

 

The guardian of a patient telephoned to complain regarding the communication surrounding the patient’s outpatient appointments.

.The Outpatients Manager apologised for this and spoke to the bookings team to ensure that these issues do not happen again.

 

Email received from complainant regarding the delay in providing medication.

The Trust recognised the delay in the department and apologised for the distress caused to the patient and offered for them to have a meeting with the medical director if required.

 

Complaint received about the attitude of a receptionist in the Outpatients Department when attending an appointment with their son.

The Administration Manager apologised for their experience, and advised that the receptionist has been asked to reflect on her communication with patients.

 

Father of a patient raised a concern regarding his daughter’s treatment and discharge.

The Trust apologised for the patients experience and ensured to review their treatment plan. We recognised an internal miscommunication error and raised this with the department concerned for them to learn from and rectify.

 

Husband of patient raised concerns with us regarding the nursing care on Frensham Ward.

The Trust apologised for the patient’s experience and raised their concerns with the Matron on Frensham Ward and nurses responsible for their care for them to reflect and learn from.

 

The mother of a patient was unhappy with the A&E consultant who saw her daughter.

.The Trust apologised and recognised there were issues to learn from, this was also raised this with the consultant concerned to reflect on and learn from.

.

Complaint from patient who was unhappy with their response received from PALS and was unhappy with appointment processes and policies.

We apologised for the patient’s experience, and explained the new processes and advised that we will review this system in the Outpatients Team to see if there is a better way to streamline this process.

 

Patient unhappy with the attitude of the midwife and the care and treatment provided when she went into labour.

 We apologised for the poor experience and assured the patient that this was shared with those concerned for reflective learning.

 

Complaint received about the car parking system and the signs in the car park.

The Trust apologised for their experience, and advised that our third party company would be reviewing the signs and slow speed of the machines. We also advised that they are looking into a better system and ticketing measures.

 

The father of a patient raised concerns regarding their experience with a doctor in the A&E Department.

The Trust apologised for their experience and has spoken to the doctor involved who has reflected on his actions.

 

Daughter of a patient raised concerns about the nursing care on Tilford and Hindhead Wards.

We apologised for the nursing care her father received, and that the communication was below the standards we expect. This was raised with the staff involved and in ward meetings to ensure learning was shared throughout the departments.

 

Wife of a patient made a complaint regarding her husband’s care and treatment.

The Trust reviewed the patient’s treatment plan to ensure it was managed appropriately and apologised for the patient’s experience and for the lack of communication.

 

The daughter of a patient complained regarding an accident her mother had on a ward and the lack of information provided on her discharge summary.

We apologised for the lack of communication and an incident form was completed and investigated by the ward manager. We also offered to meet with the daughter if she had any further points of concern.

 

Complaint received from carers regarding a patient’s discharge.

The Trust has apologised for the patient’s experience and recognised there were improvements to be made on the ward concerned. A two nurse checking procedure of all medications to take home prior to discharge has since been introduced.

 

Patient was unhappy with the receptionist in the eye clinic.

The Trust has apologised for their experience and the receptionist’s attitude and has fed this back to the receptionist’s manager to monitor.

 

 Complaint received from a family regarding the communication received from the doctor caring for their father.

The junior doctor apologised for this and advised that he will reflect on how he communicated with the family to ensure he manages this better in the future.

 

A patient complained regarding their care and treatment and lack of communication.

We apologised that their experience did not meet their expectations, and have fed this back to the doctor concerned to learn from.

 

Patient complained about the nursing care and consultant care during her procedure and aftercare.

.The Trust apologised to the patient that we did not meet her expectations and arranged for the patient to be seen by their consultant to address any further points of concern.

 

Patient complained about the car parking facilities and problems with the machines accepting cash and card payments.

.We apologised for their parking experience and assured them that the issues with the machines would be looked into.

 

Complaint received from patient who was discharged back to their GP after waiting a long time for their appointment.

The appointments centre recognised that they should not have been discharged from our service and the managers have fed this back to the bookings team to ensure this does not happen again.

 

Patient was unhappy with the delay in their procedure in their outpatient’s appointment.

The Trust apologised for their experience and arranged for the patient to be seen by the consultant in clinic to discuss his concerns with him fully.

Complaint from patient regarding the time took for an internal referral to be typed.

We apologised for the delay and addressed this with the department concerned who put in measures to ensure this does not happen again.

 

Daughter raised a complaint about the delay in providing investigation findings to her mother.

We apologised for this and sent a copy of the findings to the complainant.

 

Daughter complained regarding her father’s care and discharge.

The Trust apologised for her father’s experience and fed this back to the Emergency Department Team.

 

Patient complained regarding the treatment they received from a Traineee GP and Registrar.

The Trust apologised for their experience and recognised that the clinic letter should have correctly stated who the patient would be seeing that day and fed this back to the bookings team to rectify.

 

Complaint raised by family who received a clinic letter for a member of their family that had passed away.

The Trust apologised for this and recognised the distress caused. We then ensured to  update our hospital records accordingly.

 

Friend of a patient complied regarding the poor attitude of a Health Care Assistant.

Millbridge Ward apologised for this and recognised there was learning to be had from this experience. This was fed back to ward staff concerned to reflect and learn from.

 

Complaint from a patient unhappy with the results of their operation.

The consultant in charge of the patient’s care arranged to see them in clinic and subsequently responded to all of their concerns.

 

Patient unhappy with the outcome of their clinic appointment and had difficulty contacting secretaries.

The Trust apologised for this and for their difficulty in contacting the secretary’s. This was fed back to the Speciality Manager to ensure processes were put in place to cover the secretary’s telephones during times of sickness and absence.

 

 

 

 

©2018 Royal Surrey County Hospital

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?