Board members

Our Trust Board comprises non-executive and executive directors who are jointly responsible for the effective management of Royal Surrey NHS Foundation Trust. 

Led by the Chair, our non-executive directors use their knowledge, skills and experience to help the Board formulate Trust strategies, and support and promote a healthy organisational culture. They hold the Board to account by challenging its decisions and outcomes to make sure they are satisfied that our organisation is operating with financial and operational integrity, and in the best interests of patients and the public. 

Led by the Chief Executive, the executive directors are our most senior managers and are responsible for the day-to-day running of the Trust, including matters on strategy and operational management, as well as any issues regarding staff or patients. 

Both the non-executive directors and the executive directors regularly speak with patients and staff, listening to their views, ideas and concerns.

Back to the list

Joss Bigmore - Chair

Joss Bigmore - Chair

Joss Bigmore is the Chair of the Royal Surrey Foundation Trust, a role he started in March 2023, and the first position he has held in the NHS.  He has been a Guildford Borough Councillor since 2019 representing Christchurch and most recently Merrow.  He led the Council between September 2020 and September 2022, before returning to the backbenches following the elections last year. 

Joss retired from a career in finance in 2016 when a Managing Director of Credit Suisse, having started his career in the trading pits of the London International Financial Futures Exchange (LIFFE). He holds an Economics Degree from Cambridge University, graduating from Downing College in 1998. 

A keen (rather than talented) golfer and cyclist, he also acts as Treasurer of the Charlotteville Jubilee Trust which manages ‘The Spike’, a Community and Heritage Centre in Charlotteville.